chest pain.

Status
Not open for further replies.

LittleJess

Banned
I'm just wondering what pain killer works best for chest pain?

I've been having this chest pain spring up for the last couple days, (don't worry I'm not having a heart attack) It's some condition I have that is acting up recently (inflammation of my in my rib joints etc) you get the general idea. It's some genetic?? (well I think it's genetic) dad and nana have the same thing that I have.

Just wondering what helps with chest pain? It's not too bad so I don't think I'll need to ask my doctor to prescribe me anti-inflammation drugs or anything, but usually it gets worse once It acts up.

I have this thing called costochondritis which springs up every now and again, usually goes away. I think it lasts roughly a month before it goes away.

Last edited:
I'm not a doctor, but here's what I know...
NSAID drugs like ibuprofen, aspirin, and naproxen are good for pain with inflammation. I've never taken naproxen, but when I take ibuprofen or aspirin, I take them with food. Otherwise, they occasionally bother my stomach a bit.

I take Ibuprofen because it's easier on my stomach than aspirin. I can't take aspirin because of a past bleeding ulcer history. Tylenol is probably easiest on the stomach, but it doesn't do anything for me. I would suggest that you try to find the real cause of your pain however, as you never know what might be causing it. It could be a lot of things including acid reflux, in which case, aspirin and ibuprofen would make it worse.

dogboy said:
I take Ibuprofen because it's easier on my stomach than aspirin. I can't take aspirin because of a past bleeding ulcer history. Tylenol is probably easiest on the stomach, but it doesn't do anything for me. I would suggest that you try to find the real cause of your pain however, as you never know what might be causing it. It could be a lot of things including acid reflux, in which case, aspirin and ibuprofen would make it worse.