Status
Not open for further replies.

Angelic

Est. Contributor
Role
  1. Adult Baby
  2. Little
  3. Incontinent
I have just been diagnosed with a Similar diagnosis. Can anyone Tell me how to get over this Problem? I thought i was going deaf! That was a wierd twist!

I don't, but I'll throw this out. I'm a very good musician and I have a theory as to what makes many of us, musicians. Most people who have normal hearing, have the ability to not hear all the residual sounds. Their brain enables them to zero in on one sound at a time, usually the person talking to them, or whatever it is they want to hear. But some of us, hear all the sounds and our brains begin to process all those sounds at once.

I don't know if you've ever used a mixing board, but it's an electronic device used to process many audio inputs. Put simply, if you have a band, all the microphones get plugged into the board as well as the instruments. Then the sound guy adjusts all the levels, loud, soft, medium so that the audience hears the balanced sounds between the instruments and the vocals.

I've envisioned my brain as having this mixing board that makes me hear all the sounds. Some might be louder and some softer, but if I'm in a room where everyone is talking, or even if there is a squeaking noise while someone is speaking, the other noises become very annoying.

But here's the plus side for me. When I listen to my choir during rehearsal, I can hear all the four parts and to some degree, all the different voices. I am readily able to process that and correct wrong notes or change how one singer is sounding a particular vowel sound.

Even better, when I listen to a recording of a big symphony, I hear all the parts and I process what each part is doing not only musically, but mathematically. My theory is that having this ability is what might make some of us musically talented.