Thread: Help finding a therapist in the UK

Default Help finding a therapist in the UK

Hello, I wonder if there is anyone out there who might be able to give me a few pointers?

Between the ages of 10 and 13 whilst a pre pubescent, I suffered repeated sexual abuse. Apart from my wife to whom I confided a year back (and to whom I also came out after 19 years of marriage as a DL and, more recently as an AB) I have never discussed this with anyone but I think the time has now come to seek professional support and hopefully to get a few answers and to lay to rest memories that have haunted me for most of my adult life. I would also like to try understand the ABDL in me so that I can come to terms with who I am.

Don't get me wrong - I count my blessings that I am a pretty balanced sort of person and have a good life, am happily married and have a lovely family.

Being a typical 'stiff upper lip' Brit I have no experience of engaging a therapist and, naturally am very keen that the therapist I speak to not only has experience of dealing with the survivors of sexual abuse but, importantly to me, an understanding of ABDLs and a track record of dealing with this added layer of 'complexity'.

Does anyone have any thoughts or recommendations they might be able to share with me?

Kind regards MWHE

I'm also a bit of a stiff-upper-lipped-Brit, but recently had a few years of psychotherapy. I certainly think it would be important to find a therapist experienced in supporting abuse survivors. I'm so sorry to hear you've experienced such things.

But, personally, I see the whole ABDL thing as being, in psychological terms, relatively simple. You'll never find out with absolute certainty why you became interested in such things, but just talking about the emotions related to the experience of being ABDL helped me accept myself and trust my own feelings. In the end, wearing a diaper feels nice and makes me feel a certain way.