Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Well, I've finished high school, any advice?

Red face Well, I've finished high school, any advice?

I'm 18, sucks that I had to do high school while 18 had to repeat reception due to my speech delays.

I still remember my first day at school, the first topic we touched was Pirates, and we made pirate hats. yay!

I have very good memory for some reason, its genetic and probs related to my autism, now back onto the subject.

I've had to teach myself a lot of things, like how to apply for a tax file number, and how to do banking and stuff like that.

I'm doing tafe this year, I'm kind of scared, is there anything that I should know or learn before entering the real world?

Is there any advice your guys have? since In a way I'm not really an adult (I'm still a bit of a little at times) and have tons to learn, I'm new to the real world and they don't teach you how to deal with it in high school.

I know this might be a weird question lol, but I feel like there is so much to know, and not knowing everything kind of drives me insane, because I have that desire to seek information.

Even if its something small, like look across the road while crossing, anything will help me.

The best advise I can give you is to just do it. My first job was when I was 11, working in a boat yard. The second job, I was 12, playing organ as the church's organist. After I graduated from high school, I got a job working in a store like Pennys. I worked in the camera department. What you need is the experience of working. You might consider getting a two year Associate's degree from a two year junior college. By doing that, you would have a specific area of training and a major. They offer career counseling which I think might be very helpful to you. Good luck.

I attended and graduated from Wentworth Institute, majoring in Electronics.
    College was more enjoyable for me than High School.