Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Small Problem?

Default Small Problem?

I need help on this quick and I know no one here is a lawyer, but I have this girl that wants me to testify on her behalf for a custody hearing. She is having the court issue me a Subpoena, she is requesting my address so they can give it to me. As far as I know, if I get it I am required to show up. I have told this girl on multiple accounts I am not comfortable testifying.

She is telling me now if I don't show or I don't give her my address that I will get jail time.

I don't know all the legals of any of this, it's late and I don't know where else to turn. Can I actually get in trouble for choosing not to testify on her behalf? I thought that the courts could not force someone to testify if they don't want to.

MarchinBunny

Typically, ya. Once you get a subpoena, you have to go and testify. Though I am not a lawyer so who knows if there is a way around it or not.

Why are you not comfortable with testifying if you don't mind me asking?

Quote Originally Posted by brabbit1987 View Post
    Typically, ya. Once you get a subpoena, you have to go and testify. Though I am not a lawyer so who knows if there is a way around it or not.

Why are you not comfortable with testifying if you don't mind me asking?
    Because it has been years since I have seen her, I don't know what she is actually like around her kid

MarchinBunny

Quote Originally Posted by FauxPas View Post
    Because it has been years since I have seen her, I don't know what she is actually like around her kid
    Well, then if you get subpoenaed you will just have to let them know that. Tell them what you do know, and that's that. Just be honest.
    But ya, you have to go if you get that subpoena. If you don't you could end up with fines or jail time.