Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Do I Have Any Chance in Music?

Default Do I Have Any Chance in Music?

This may seem far-fetched, and I really think it is. I've played piano for ever. I picked up guitar beginning of this year, been playing many hours a day, singing too. Do you think I am good enough to make a career of it? Is the music industry to crowded?

Its kinda hard to say if you are good enough for the music industry just off of that, you would probably have to post some sample music or something, and even then, there is a lot to be considered, such as networking. Although I'm no expert, so don't take my words completely to heart. I know there are a couple of musicians here who make a living on it such as Dogboy, so he really would be the best one to answer your question.

I guess the important thing is to ask, what is the minimum out of this career path that you would be happy with? Dogboy plays music for a church, which knowing guitar and piano would be good for that. It certainly wouldn't make the big bucks, but I suspect if you had a few gigs around town you could make it work. If you are hoping to make a middle class income, if you work really hard, it is probably doable. If you are trying to make a few hundred grand a year or more like the other big shot musicians, then you kind of have to be both lucky, and unique.

It is probably best to have a backup plan, and then spend your spare time making music videos and doing performances on the side, although If you really are trying to get attention of the masses, you might have to put in a full time effort to be recognized, it is a risky investment unless you get recognized quickly. I know some musicians who I think would be excellent as a popular artist, but they just haven't been recognized, and that is the big problem, people have to hear about you. There are some artists out there that aren't even that good, and they still make lots, just because the get discovered by the masses.