Thread: Change of Perspective

Default Change of Perspective

I have been thinking about some things for quite some time. I am not sure how to dive into this, so bare with me. I am an older college student at a private university in Texas with a family, Veteran, and real world experience. I was recently sitting in on a lecture from a visiting professor that is from Kent State. he spoke on the topic of Feminism and equality among other things. He discussed how things still have not completely changed for the positive in the world (referred to homosexuality), and how there is still a fear from groups and individuals. It got me to thinking that although change is occurring, it is still not effective across all races, sexes, religions... I am a DL, if I had to classify myself, and I cannot help but think of how great our community/world would be if there was no judgement. I realize this is something that will never happen, but the ideas of the population, at least in the US, seem to becoming more open and free with new viewpoints and acceptance of differences. Listening to this Dr. speak was great because it really allowed me to open MY mind and think about what I can do to be more accepting of my own prejudices. If everyone could do so, this world would be a much happier place. Hopefully I haven't been too choppy, but this is raw.

I cannot help but wonder when "our" turn will be, and in what form it will be displayed. Do "we" need an I am not trying to force any of my feelings or beliefs onto anyone else, but it sure would be great to have a population of folks that look at our difference like many currently look at gay marriage and the likes...with indifference and acceptance. There are a lot of folks out there, young and old, that are struggling to "come out" to a friend, parents, or a significant other, and acceptance is the key. I hope this makes some sense.