Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: On Cynicism in Politics

Post On Cynicism in Politics

I'd like to take a moment to preface what I have written. I am a professional political scientist; most of my work is concerned with what is, what actually is and not what should be. Most political scientists are apolitical personally, but that is not my case. I am political, and while it doesn't color my work, I tend to think in normative terms about what my work means. While this writing deals with theory, I am not a theorist by training. I study international relations, a subject that involves equal parts knowledge of politics and knowledge of math; this writing is somewhat new to me. However, by pure chance, I was assigned to teach a course in political theory to ninety college students and have been doing so since August. I do enjoy it. I do find it interesting, and among my colleagues I am considered the authority, at least within our department (which is not a small one).

From our weekly discussions, and from this board, I sense more than just a distrust of government. I sense cynicism and along with it come some of the worst impulses common the cynic. There are cultural reasons for this mistrust; there is some justification for it. And for the cynicism to. But my concern is that people are giving up when, to my mind, all of the evidence means that we should try harder.

I'd like a good discussion of this topic. I imagine that it will provoke a good deal of it. As I caution my students, respect in what we say and how we say are crucial if this is to be a fruitful exercise. I've noticed an unfortuante tendency in some threads for people to conclude that others have the worst possible motives, the least possible knowledge, and to take every word very literally. While I have not included much metaphor or hyperbole, there is some there, and I expect there will be some in what other people post. Recognize it for what it is: a literary device.