Page 1 of 5 12345 LastLast

Thread: Diapers in an emergency?

Default Diapers in an emergency?

This is always something I take into consideration when I go out diapered; what if I get into an accident? As a medical professional myself I know that no one would really bat an eye at someone diapered coming into the ER but I was just wondering if it ever actually happened to anyone.

It's always my fear slash making a bad situation better. If someone I knew found out it would be awful. If I could be padded in the hospital it'd probably help my anxiety. Hopefully if it's my padding and I can change myself that is. It's not the best thing to involve someone else. If I'm panicked enough I warrant restraint I sadly can't do much about it...

Well for me that would worry the EMT's even more most likely. Why? Because my wearing a diaper indicates a medical condition that could complicate things even more. It has never happened to me ironically considering all the hell I have gone through but that's more because I was not incontinent the last time I had to go the ER. What happened was on July 18th of 2010 I had a left Patelar ninety degree lateral dislocation of my left knee again(I've had 3 knee dislocations so far with 2 of them being ninety degree. otherwise all of them the same). I was not wearing a diaper at the time because I was not incontinent yet at that time. Of course with me it would not matter because everyone in my area knows I wear diapers because some jackass I will be seeing in court decided that I did not need to be reasonably accommodated and the whole neighborhood saw my wet shorts that day because of that.

It comes under HIPAA (Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act)Privacy Rule.

I am a retired EMT an in my case i am going to tell them its due to my Small Fiber Polyneuropathy caused by a autoimmune disorder.