Furmeets, get togethers, and furcons

Status
Not open for further replies.

Scifer555

Est. Contributor
Role
  1. Diaper Lover
  2. Diaperfur
I really want to be more active in the furry community and I know I could start by going to conventions, meets, etc. I am a very socially awkward person... or was up until a year ago. I have moments of social anxiety but I don't want to be a victim, I want to be free to be myself. Are furcons and all that... I guess... worth going to?

I've not been to any cons or meetups yet, as I'm still very new to the scene myself. But I will say that I've met some amazing folks on sites like FA and FW and we do a lot of chatting through Skype. Good way to get to know others first, and then when you do attend a con or a meetup you can connect with the folks that you've been conversing with online. They really sound cool and I look forward to attending one someday soon (and hopefully go to one of those parties that Deft Leppard holds). :)

Premetheus said:
I really want to be more active in the furry community and I know I could start by going to conventions, meets, etc. I am a very socially awkward person... or was up until a year ago. I have moments of social anxiety but I don't want to be a victim, I want to be free to be myself. Are furcons and all that... I guess... worth going to?

I'm socially awkward, shy, & don't like large groups of people. I had an amazing time at my first con. I was basically dragged to it. Was scared to death. Took me a few days to open up, but I had an amazing time. Wished I'd opened up more, & talked with more people.

The people I did meet were amazing. I even met some fairly close people to where I live.

Mattew said:
I'm socially awkward, shy, & don't like large groups of people. I had an amazing time at my first con. I was basically dragged to it. Was scared to death. Took me a few days to open up, but I had an amazing time. Wished I'd opened up more, & talked with more people.