Thread: Broken dvd player :(

Default Broken dvd player :(

My dvd player is broken. My grandmother wants me to throw it away, but I don't want to until I know for a fact it cannot be fixed. I have no experience fixing stuff... but if anyone can tell me how I'll be extremely thankful, here is a bad picture... I can take more if the lighting sucks too much.

Click image for larger version. 

Name:	002.jpg 
Views:	58 
Size:	189.5 KB 
ID:	326

What happened was, one day I was going to watch saw 5, but all of a sudden it made this weird noise and jammed, we ended up getting the dvd out, but it wouldn't work right after. My mom tried fixing it, by taking it apart, so I think she might've made it worse.

trash it.

new ones are really cheap (<$45).

these kind of devices aren't really user serviceable, so unless you have the schematics and an in depth knowledge of electronics, the bin is where it will go anyway.

Lil Snap is right. New electronics aren't meant to be serviced. I recently bought a new DVD player and found it's plastic case to be heat-fused together. There are no screws to remove, making it impossible to open the device even if I wanted to, without destroying it of course.
    While shopping the other day, I noticed that Target has a bottom-of-the-line BluRay player for $22. It was no larger than a paperback novel!
    It was very basic and had no bells or whistles, but it would certainly work better than a broken one.

Hope this helps,
    SDL

Trash it. If it were me, I would try and fix it anyway since it sounds like a loading issue, but the cold hard truth is it's just not worth repairing...

- New electronics (after the early 90's) are made with cheap plastic gears, a few IC's that do all the logic, and proprietary components that cheap as hell. Making it not only harder and more expensive to fix, but also less worth fixing.
    - The noise it made sounds like something mechanical is broken - the part will probably cost more than a new DVD player