Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Many questions regarding cloth diapers!

Default Many questions regarding cloth diapers!

I have never used them before and I was wondering what the differences are in types of fabrics and closures. I have read some descriptions online but I would prefer to hear some advice from first hand experienced users.

My wife and I thought that it might save us money in the long run and we could give them a shot. A bit of FYI: I have nocturnal bed wetting (10+ years now) and the primary use would be for these purposes. I do not want them to leak, but I want them to be extremely comfortable. I don't know if it matters but at present I use mainly Dry 24/7 diapers.

I don't really want to have to mess with manual folding, or massive pinning as sometimes I am REALLY tired and since I have no choice in wearing this would make my life really harder than necessary, however, if it's the best option I will still try it and resort to disposables when am at a lost for energy.

Some of my main questions are which fabrics are best and most comfortable? What closures are best fitting? Which fabrics or closures are have the best longevity? What kinds of maintenance is involved with cleansing these (Any special detergents, soaking etc?) Is it really necessary to have a plastic cover over them? Do they come in standard widths or lengths? What sites sell quality products?

Thanks for all the responses! I apologize in advance for the bombardment of questions but I like to be well informed before I go spending my money on things!