What's pain when sucking a paci mean?

Status
Not open for further replies.

SpAzpieSweeTot

Daddy's girl through and through! Understood?
Est. Contributor
Role
  1. Adult Baby
  2. Incontinent
I'm thinking of getting an adult-sized :paci:. Heck, I may even get one made. I've noticed thumb-sucking is a real pain in the lips!:mad: Is this a problem I'm likely to have with an adult-sized :paci:, and if I do, is it a sign that the baglet, which I learned just yesterday is the proper term for the part you suck on, is too big? What are the signs that the balglet is too small? Could pain be a sign that the shield is too big? Of the 2 orthodontic baglet shapes, which is more comfy, angled or round/flat?:confused:

Sorry to post so many paci questions, but I've no experience with them, and a very picky mouth, and I figure, better to ask everything now, and if I have pain, I'll know what it means, and I can choose another one based on that.

I found that when sucking a paci that was too small (I had bought a pair of Nuk 3s at a supermarket), I would get pain in my cheeks and the corners of my mouth. I've never had a paci that's been the right size since I was an actual baby though, so I can't say anything about whether it was because the pacis I had were too small or not.

Hey there sweet little thing :) I think what might be happening is you're working at it too hard, which could mean working on your technique a bit. You should be able to relax with your thumb in your mouth, such that it puts little or no pressure on your lips when sucking. It should be more the back part of your tongue and roof of your mouth where the action is taking place. I know when I am sucking my thumb, my lips are quite relaxed. It could be that your action is something like Maggie Simpson which is all out front...looks cool on the show but doesn't really work.

If you've nailed this right, your natural sucking reflex which is instinct, should just take over.