Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Working retail

Default Working retail

I work in retail as a sales associate. I have been having such crazy management telling me nonsense all week... Anyone else work in retail? Do you have decent managers?

I used to. Division Managers where I worked were OK. Assistant manager of the store hated me for some reason.

Spent six and a half years in retail.. managers really depend on where you go. I worked for Wal-Mart six of those years and I got stuck with some real jerks.. the company is actually worse, in terms of how its ran and who runs it.

The thing with managers, if you want to make your life easy, is to just make them think things were their own idea. Do exactly what they tell you, and then of something is totally stupid, suggest the not stupid way of doing it in a private meeting where you're offering an observation and asking them what they think of it. Then two days later when they come in and tell you what a great idea they've had, you smile and congratulate them.

You can go back and claim the credit on your resume later.

Also, this post is partially in jest, yes, but also partially not. Sonetines getting ahead isn't about one-upping people and demanding credit for what you've done, it's about making things run well. If stuff gets better everywhere you go, people will take notice.

I work in retail. Was recently recognized at the store meeting as one of the top associates for my store for 2014, at which point it's worthwhile to mention I was only even in the store from September on. The award also came with $250 so it's not empty. I recently told them I need to move to a different state and transfer stores, which they're extremely disappointed (if understanding) about. I was being penciled in for a fast track to department head and then assistant store manager.

Quote Originally Posted by boobybird89 View Post