Thread: At a loss with GF and selfharm

Question At a loss with GF and selfharm

Where to being,
    The jist of the problem is my partner practices skin picking both compulsively and because of anxiety reasons. I have been aware of this to some degree for a while but only sorta got full disclosure recently.

http://www.trich.org/about/skin-picking.html

What brought this to a head is we recently entered a cg/lg dynamic and I didnt want them to hide anything from me.
    Im just at a bit of a loss at how deal with this, I want to help to any degree possible but I have very little experience dealing with people that have self harmed and not sure what is more harm than help.

Does anyone else have personal experience with similar issues on either side, or ideas for a good course of action?

Also we will be seeking professional medical advice.

I'm going to tread carefully, because self-harming is different based on each person - in terms of their emotional motivation for self-harming, the extent of the injuries, and the overall mental health picture for each individual who self-harms.

One of my close family members self-harmed for a number of years. He's stopped now, but to reach that point it took understanding the motivation behind his actions, and not just trying to explain logically why cutting yourself is a bad thing. It's an issue I think you should approach very gently. Maybe ask your GF a few general questions about how she's feeling, and what's making her feel unstable or upset. You're more likely to get a receptive answer to the kinds of beliefs and thoughts which are driving the self-harm than if you jump in and say 'Why are you self-harming?'. That kind of approach is likely to make her defensive, and perhaps even more anxious or unstable than before.