Thread: Countdown to Race

Default Countdown to Race

This is probably just going to be a rambling post, but what else is new? Just a little pre-race nerves, folks.

The Canada Army Run starts in just under two hours. It's a half marathon event. I've been training for it for several months and I'm feeling pretty good today so I expect a good race. They're calling for rain, but I don't see any sign of it so far. I hope it holds off until after the race because I really despise rainy days. I ran competitively more than thirty years ago, so my best finish times are far behind me, but it still feels good just going out and running races, since I'm still healthy and injury free after all these years. I guess it's just an appreciation of the simple things in life.

This is actually the first time I registered for this event. Some people on this site would be aware that my politics are somewhat left of centre. The Canada Army Run is a fund raiser for the military, with proceeds going to veterans and families of soldiers killed in the line of duty. I've just never been a supporter of the military so I always stayed away from this event. However, I really wanted to run a half marathon in the fall and this one seemed to be the most convenient. At least, it's not like having a bake sale to raise money to buy more tanks (that's what I keep telling myself). My friends are laughing at me, telling me that being a runner is more important than my political views, and saying that I just proved that we all get more conservative as we get older. I adamantly refused to run this event because of the cause it supported, yet here I am, all psyched up and raring to go? What happened?

Starting to look cloudier, oh please don't rain. Regardless, I'm heading out to the starting line. Wish me luck.
    Last edited by Starrunner; 21-Sep-2014 at 12:33.

Hope it don't rain on your race and good luck.

Good luck Starrunner!