Thread: Any other Grad students? Question about candidacy exam.

Unhappy Any other Grad students? Question about candidacy exam.

If there are any other graduate students here in PhD programs, I have my candidacy in the Spring, and I'm already preparing the thing I need for it. I didn't have a great semester (got a B and a B+ in my two topical courses; an A and an A- in my methods courses) in the fall, and I have a hard time appearing enthusiastic in seminar (I am about the material, just can't get it across). Is the candidacy exam something worth stressing about, or should I just try to appear more interested or just take it easy? BTW, in my dept, our candidacy exam is a review, not an actual exam.

What is a "candidacy exam"? I've never heard of it, and I'm about to get my PhD next month. I certainly managed to do without that exam.

It depends.

The exam to move from Ph.D. student to Ph.D. candidate varies by department and committee.

For instance, I'm an inter-disciplinary student housed in a Psychology department, doing a dissertation in business. As the psychology exam is an all-day event that would really not meet my ends (I suppose I'm an Information Theory / Cognitive Psychology / Social Psychology / Organizational Behavior guy) I have opted for another path: the ABD-by-3-chapters-of-dissertation option.

It would be easier for me to defend my knowledge about the field of psychology (Cognitive and Social, anyway) over the course of a day. It would also be less helpful.

If your department has an exam, it will be hard. You should stress. Typically, people spend a semester preparing for the exam. It's a rite of passage, as candidacy essentially tells the world that your committee backs you and everything should work fine unless you royally screw something up.