Page 1 of 5 12345 LastLast

Thread: If Homosexuality is not a disorder, why is Paraphilic Infantilism considered one?

Default If Homosexuality is not a disorder, why is Paraphilic Infantilism considered one?

Under the DSM-5, Paraphilic Infantilism is considered a disorder, but Homosexuality is not. Why is this? What's the difference between Homosexuality and Infantilism? They both seem to be harmless...

I would assume it's the same reason some people would like to believe homosexuality still is a disorder: People can't accept that other people are different, so they make up fake diseases/disorders to explain it. That said, it's possible there is some kind of scientific thing behind it for some people making it a medical thing. (Developmental and growing issues maybe? I don't know, im not a scientist.) But I'm leaning to the fact that people can't accept differences, especially one as far out as to someone wanting to act little.

From what I've been reading, it appears that the DSM-5 now lists Sexual Paraphilias as being benign as long as it doesn't cause harm or distress to the individual, thereby identifying it not as a disorder, but as an interest or trait.

As I understand it, most "authorities" on psychology (of which the DSM is one of many, and not that well respected outside of the US) only define conditions that are detrimental to the individual concerned. As I understand it, the paraphilia listed in the DSM only apply when behaviour is detrimental to the self or others. Most AB/DLs would fall into that category.

Quote Originally Posted by tiny View Post
    As I understand it, most "authorities" on psychology (of which the DSM is one of many, and not that well respected outside of the US) only define conditions that are detrimental to the individual concerned.