Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Anyone on here work with kids?

Default Anyone on here work with kids?

We all know how Littles often get falsely associated with pedophillia. So if you work with kids, you kind of need to keep this weird "adult kid" interest hidden. This is the boat I find myself in. I can't be real specific, but will say that I volunteer to help with "special" kids. My primary reason for getting into this field was to give back to the system, as I was once a "therapy kid" myself. The fact that this position allows me a socially acceptable reason to play with, by, and like kids, is simply a bonus.

So, does anyone else on here work with actual, honest to goodness kids?

I did work with kids and still volunteer. I was a teacher for 3 years and left last year due to a number of issues including the fear of false accusations... but that's just a problem with being a male teacher in general. My main reason for leaving though was the lack of support for graduate teachers and the workload causing my depression.

I've also worked in summer camps in the USA for 4 years.

For volunteering I've coached children's hockey since I was 17 and umpired it since I was 13. I also volunteer with a youth organisation doing group work with homeless children.