Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: EMDR Therapy for PTSD

Default EMDR Therapy for PTSD

I've recently started seeing a therapist to address some underlying anger problems I have that I believe is rooted in PTSD. The kind of therapy she specializes in is EMDR. apparently they've had quite a bit of success using it for people with PTSD.

Who here has had success with it? I talked with her some about my diaper stuff too and it sounded as though we might address some old triggers for this as well.

What's it like? I'm still in the intake/planning stage and we haven't actually started working on the therapy piece yet.

Thanks

I'm a psychologist who uses EMDR therapy as my primary treatment psychotherapy and I've also personally had EMDR therapy for anxiety, panic, grief, and “small t” trauma. As a client, EMDR therapy worked extremely well and also really fast. As an EMDR therapist, and in my role as a facilitator who trains other therapists in EMDR therapy (certified by the EMDR International Assoc. and trained by the EMDR Institute) I have used EMDR successfully with panic disorders, childhood sexual/physical/emotional abuse and neglect, single incident trauma and complex/chronic PTSD, anxiety, depression, grief, body image, phobias, distressing memories, bad dreams and more.