Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Diaper or Catheter? Recs for diapers?

Default Diaper or Catheter? Recs for diapers?

I am a 30-year-old female professional who, by outward appearances, you would not assume to be incontinent. I'm very tall and thin (did modelling), but unfortunately as a result of an eating disorder I've suffered from since my teens, I have increasingly developed urinary incontinence that has become severe. I started to just "go" without realizing it. My doctor has recommended (and I've been using) a catheter, but this frequently causes irritation and leaks. As a result, other urologists are urging that I wear some sort of an adult diaper. I am finding this somewhat odd/embarrassing but also am interested and open.

Does anyone have experience with this?

Are there any brands of diapers you'd recommend? I'd be wearing most of the time, as this is stress and urge incontinence. I've tried lots of exercises and medications but little is working. Sometimes I will go several times in an hour. As a result, I will probably have to have a wet diaper on occasion. Also - what types of wipes, etc do you use? Are there baby powders?

I tend to dress up and have relatively tight pants, though looser skirts, but don't know how bulky these would appear.

Hopefully this is temporary and we can figure something else out. It's been a relatively rapid development, though apparently there is lasting damage, so I'll need some sort of pad, most likely, in the future even if we sort out the more severe incontinence I'm currently dealing with.

Thanks for your help.

I'm not IC but there are plenty out there who will help you out. From my limited experience as a DL, you will probably be OK in a pull up. That way if you need to go, you can. They are also more discrete.

You can get a whole range of samples from Age UK - Disposable Pull Up Pant Samples - Incontinence Product Samples - Incontinence Shop |