Thread: Has Anyone Tried This Math?

Default Has Anyone Tried This Math?

Say, has anyone taken the cost of a quality disposable vs the cost of laundering a couple adult cloth diapers and a pair of pants? I'm not good with numbers, but I am guessing my cloth setup is about .90 a use, while my dispies are about 1.90 a use. Any input? Let's put the debate to rest!

Here's my math for washing my cloth diapers. It's $.16 a day. My water is free and mother nature dries them. My Arm & Hammer with
    Oxi Clean costs me $4.90 for a 2.13 qt which lasts me 30 days. I wash two diapers plus one or two boosters daily. These are hand washed.

My disposables are a $1.40 per day on the average. Sometimes I have a messing accident
    and goes two. That happens maybe once a month.

It's actually pretty hard to calculate this. Oleman gets free water, but somebody is paying for that (or it's incorporated into his rent and ought to be pro-rated by amount used). Plus there are different environmental effects: the effects of power/water/detergent from doing extra laundry vs the effects of disposables in landfill. You might also want to consider the oil used in shipping multiple deliveries of disposables and, if you're busy, the value of your own time in doing laundry and folding cloth.

i bet that it works out the same for both types.......if you count the cost in calories (don't forget that money is intangible; in other words, worthless)
    of course, dispies are millions of years in the making; would Sir care to wait?

I wash my cloth night diapers in the shower by letting the warm, soapy shower water cascade through them. I then manually wring the excess water out and air dry. So itís pretty much no extra water, soap or power consumption for me. Cloth is almost free here!!!

It's not hard to calculate at all. It's hard to come up with one set of hard and fast "these are the rules" numbers that apply to many cases, but calculation is easy.