Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: I am not.

Default I am not.

I am not very good at holding a conversation or whatever. I need a little bit of help. I don't usually talk to many people, because most of the people around can't stand me for some reason or another. So is it okay if I ask for some advice?

I couldn't see the harm asking for advice.

To throw something kinda random, yet pertaining to the thread - I've noticed that SAD is somewhat prevalent in the community. SAD = Social Anxiety Disorder. I've even noticed a general shyness, without being associated as strongly as SAD - which varies anyhow. Not with everyone, but it's there enough that I've seen it in threads and I've complained about it myself. Aaaaanyways~! I'm rambling.

The best thing I've noticed from observing others who I deem very socially skilled is that they always ask questions about the other person. They ask questions with genuine curiosity. Like, "So where did you grow up?" and when they answer, they always nod and smile like it's the most interesting thing they've ever heard. Then most importantly they come up with a follow-up question, like "Wow, so is it as cold in Alaska as everyone says?"

So basically, people love talking about themselves. Let them do it. And also, people remember little of what you say, but mostly of how you made them feel inside. So if you slipped up a few words and all, that's okay, if you are trying to make them feel like special, good, people, they'll remember that sensation of awesomeness and associate it with you from now on.

Quote Originally Posted by BronyPony14 View Post
    I am not very good at holding a conversation or whatever. I need a little bit of help. I don't usually talk to many people, because most of the people around can't stand me for some reason or another. So is it okay if I ask for some advice?
    Hello

SO would you tell me a little bit about yourself and lets see how long we can keep this thread going.