Thread: Updating computer hardware on a limited budget

Post Updating computer hardware on a limited budget

Good morning!

I want to mention before I start that I am aware there are perhaps more appropriate forums to post this particular question on, but I feel a stronger connection to this community and feel this is a more supportive and less judgmental one. So here it goes.

I am currently a student at university on quite a tight budget, but want to update my computer to play some of the newer games that have been and are due to be released. I enjoy tinkering with my hardware but I am in no way a master. In fact, I consider myself still to be quite naive.

Here are my current PC specifications as taken from DirectX Diagnostic Tool:

Operating System: Windows Vista Ultimate (6.0 Build 6002)

Processor: AMD Phenom II x4 955 processor (4 CPUs), ~3.2GHz - On a side note, it does have a turbo function to increase this to 3.8GHz.

Ram: 8190MB

Graphics Card: AMD Radeon HD 6800 Series - ~1GB I believe

HDD: 500GB (partitioned) - my oldest component at nearly 5 years old, I intend on buying another, maybe two depending.

Does anyone know of any online guides or books that I can read to advise me further and possibly teach me a little more about this or if anyone can inform me from their own experience which components to update first.

Warm regards,

P.S. I built my computer with my uncle 5 years ago and have been steadily updating it since. My last purchases were the graphics card and a 750w PSU.

From what I've read in my own quest over the years, the latest AMD processors have not advanced all that much - but by the same token, they seem to perform quite well compared to Intel products for gaming purposes. So that aging processor might work well for you for at least another year or two (I have no idea what your motherboard is so I don't know what upgrade options you have, if any).