Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: What's CRACK-alacking? Oh snap! ME

Default What's CRACK-alacking? Oh snap! ME

So I took a bit of a nasty fall early this month, December 9th to be exact. A little background. Some of you know I'm a very passionate snowboarder. I tend to dabble in the freestyle side of things, park riding, jumps, off trails, etc. Don't get me wrong I love carving for miles on end as well. I've been snowboarding for about four years now. I was very much looking forward to the new season but unfortunately my second week into riding this year it all took a turn for the worse.

I hit a jump that was about six feet high that lands into a box rail frame. I was setting up for some butter action but I didn't realize until it was too late that the lip of the jump was iced over. This threw me off balance and the force of the impact was my femur. I tried to get up after it happened but I couldn't move my leg at all. My partner was with me when this all went down and blocked anyone else from hitting the same jump since they could land on me considering my current luck. Well the medical team came, tried to keep me calm even though I was going into shock. I'm sure the cold didn't help since they had to cut the leg of my pants off. They got my leg into a splint and down the rest of the mountain. From there they pretty much determined this wasn't a mild ordeal and I needed a real hospital. So they drove me to Bear Mountain Urgent Care. I was there for about eight hours while they pumped me full of pain drugs and took xrays. At least Regular Show and Adventure Time were on the TV back to back episodes while I spaced out on the Dilaudid iv shots. Gotta make the best of a shit situation, right?

Well Doctor finally comes back and just gives me that look of "you really fucked up". Sure enough the look was right as he tells me I shattered my femur and fractured it in three spots high up. Xray you say? Sure.

Incision photo. Don't click if you can't handle it.