Thread: Cloth diaper questions

Default Cloth diaper questions

Hey all,
    I was thinking of getting some adult cloth diapers from babykins and test out the world or reusable, but I'm new to cloth and would like some advice from current users.

First, for typical diaper/vinyl pant combo, are the vinyl pants designed to be reused for multiple diaper changes? Probably a stupid question, I know, but again, new to this whole cloth thing.

Any advice on all-in-ones or terry lines plastic pants?

Lastly, how do you clean a messy cloth diaper?? I can imagine that the bulk should be tossed into the toilet, but do you then just drop it into the washer, or prewash them? I guess staining is another problem, right?

Thanks a lot!

Kevin

Quote Originally Posted by CrazyCanuck View Post
    First, for typical diaper/vinyl pant combo, are the vinyl pants designed to be reused for multiple diaper changes? Probably a stupid question, I know, but again, new to this whole cloth thing.
    Presumably yes, though I suspect that you wash them first before re-using.

Lastly, how do you clean a messy cloth diaper?? I can imagine that the bulk should be tossed into the toilet, but do you then just drop it into the washer, or prewash them? I guess staining is another problem, right?
    I know with cloth baby diapers it's generally a good idea to soak them first. You don't want all of that mixing in with a regular wash. If it stains you can always bleach it, though bleach is pretty hard on cloth so avoid if possible.

Since you presumably have bowel control and know when you'll be messing, I have a suggestion to make it simpler: Put a paper towel folded lengthwise (or maybe just two non-folded ones) in the diaper first. Paper towels are designed to hold up under wetness, urine will soak through like they're not even there, and solids will be kept from actually touching the cloth. It should make cleanup way simpler.