Thread: Sewing

Default Sewing

So last week I bought a serger and today I really wanted to try making some training pants here's how it turned out
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	image.jpg 
Views:	121 
Size:	66.8 KB 
ID:	19184

I think for a first attempt they are amazing!! What do you think? Any suggestions?

They look fantastic! Was it a difficult process?

I'm just getting into sewing myself.

Thanks! And no it wasn't too difficult, a lot easier than I thought...

I'm about to tackle making my own footed pjs so I can get smooth white vinyl feet like they used to have. Not much skill with sewing but I think I can handle it.

I think after I master these training pants that I'll try a onesie as well but no feet cause my feet get really warm and then I can't get to bed....

Ooooohh!!!

They're FANTASTIC. Nice seams! Did you use a pattern? -- 'cause if not, you are definitely a born sewist.

What did you make it out of? That's always my most pressing question with this kind of thing... like, it needs to be comfortable but also it needs to be absorbent (if you plan on "using" them) and it also needs to be strong/stretchy enough to stay put. It looks like ... T-shirt cotton, maybe?? Oooohhh and did you use multiple layers for the center panel?! How many? (so curious! I want to make some too!!)

They look like they might be a little asymmetrical (or it could just be the photo) so I'm guessing no pattern. You might want to make one!! (if you plan on sewing more of them) I like tracing paper, because then it's easy to fold the pattern piece in half and check that it's even on both sides. And it's always easier to work with neat pieces