Thread: Hi y'all!

Default Hi y'all!

Hi everyone, I want to introduce myself first as a serious musician Ė as an artist. I use the word artist with some trepidation because it seems to be a term of self-aggrandizement, so I must add that I mean only that art in the form of music is very important to me and takes up a lot of my time and resources. Making music is the most important thing in my life and has been for most of my life.

It is not a vocation, that is, I donít make a living as a musician and I donít want to either. I am a recording artist primarily. I use composing software as well as acoustic, electric and bass guitars. I can play well slowly as well as very Ė very fast, hence my username ďFretflailer.Ē I am bragging a little here, but it is true.

I am both fortunately and unfortunately a diagnosed manic-depressive. Bi-polar disorder is for me a real disability which has at times been life threatening. It makes it impossible for me to hold a job that requires consistent work hours and uninterrupted attendance because I lack adequate circadian rhythms and will often be out of synchrony with the rest of the world, which is mostly diurnal.

Because of my disability I am afforded, by the kindness of our society, a place to live in peace, sustenance and the resources to create music, which is what I mean when I say that I am fortunate to be bi-polar, although honestly I would rather not be. It imposes severe limits on many aspects of life.

I would like to mention why I am here. First I am here to make friends with individuals who share with me the emotional needs that are in some ways met by wearing diapers and other related infantile activities.