Page 1 of 16 1234511 ... LastLast

Thread: Affordable Care Act

Default Affordable Care Act

How many members here are planning on signing up for the ACA? Also if you have tried
    what are your experiences in trying to do so. Also do you think it will be delayed or set
    back? I'm fortunate that I don't have to as I have Medicare.

I'm honestly very confused about the whole thing. Thanks republican rhetoric. I am a recent college grad, currently pursuing a masters with no extra money to pay for insurance and my state did not extend medicare. I'm confused as to what my options are.

ACA would have a premium for me in a high risk pool at $730 a month. My individual plan is increasing from 300 to 450 a month.

So, basically, I'm completely against it.

Quote Originally Posted by rileysurfer View Post
    I'm honestly very confused about the whole thing. Thanks republican rhetoric. I am a recent college grad, currently pursuing a masters with no extra money to pay for insurance and my state did not extend medicare. I'm confused as to what my options are.
    Here's what's happening right now. One facet of the ACA was to create insurance exchanges. Need a car but have no idea what car is right for you? Go to Edmunds.com and you can browse just about every model of car on the US market, and when you find one you like, there's a mechanism to say "I like this!" and have a local dealer call you. The exchanges are similar except that that they're actually more streamlined- you can use them to purchase insurance. Essentially, there's one system where you can look at all the insurance plans available to you in the state that you live in and compare options, coverage, and rates. Here's a good article (on Fox, of all places) about one guy who logged on to his state's insurance marketplace and found literally 50 plans that were better than the one he was then using to cover his family.