Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: and the verdict is...

Default and the verdict is...

The doctor was unable to see me this afternoon--a family emergency called him out of the office early--but he was able to give me a consult on the phone.

He said that I had an overactive bladder. (Tell me something I did not already know.) He said that the muscles releasing the sphincter opened rather randomly, and that this could be helped in several ways.

One way, he said, was retraining. (Oh, goody! Potty training!) But that would involve keeping to a very strict bathroom schedule--every hour, then every 1.5 hours, etc.--and I cannot do that because I am a teacher and have to follow a preset schedule over which I have no control (sort of like my bladder, now that I consider it...).

Another was is nerve stimulation, involving regular external stimulation of the nerve that runs all the way from the lower leg up to the bladder (and, I presume, beyond) in order to jump start it into working again.

Another was the "invasive" methods, including surgical procedures, etc., which he told me about but only as information to have; he did not feel they are needed, certainly not at this time. And I told him that I have extreme doubts about any invasive procedures.

Which left medical intervention. And I told him that, hey, I'm all in favor of finding some miracle drug that will stop this. That is, after all, where I started. But the drugs I took in the spring did no good whatsoever. Nonetheless, he thinks there is one out there that will work without bad side effects. And he's starting by retrying one from the spring at a higher dosage.

So yay. I'm on drugs again. We'll see if they have any more impact than before.

Meanwhile, my new case on Tena Slip Maxis has come, along with a sample pack of I'm at least not going to worry about leakage while waiting for something to happen...