Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: How do people handle life after graduation?

Unhappy How do people handle life after graduation?

Hi everybody, sorry for this very long post. But I'm kind of lost and scared and need to vent. Advice is also appreciated.

So I graduated from college back in May with a BA in visual arts with a concentration in film (please don't ask why I didn't go for a more useful degree), and surprise surprise, I still don't have a job...
    I've been searching and had a couple interviews this week and landed an internship with a local production company... But I decided not to go with it since they weren't going to pay me and I live 45 minutes away. I would lose money working for them. So now I feel like I'm stuck. One of my interviews resulted in some part-time or freelance basis work, and I have no idea what's going to come out of the other interview I had. Honestly, I hate not knowing what's going to happen! And over the past 2 days it all hit me like a ton of bricks. Last night I finally broke down and cried.

A breakdown of all my thoughts from last night:
    - To get a good job, I need experience in my field. But in order to get experience, I need to get a job.
    - The only people that seem to really like my work are people who have started their own small production companies. While I support local businesses, working for one of these "companies" means inconsistent hours... which means inconsistent paychecks. I learned this during my internship last semester.
    - My school only taught me how to shoot with a DSLR. Fun fact: a lot of professionals shoot with much more expensive cameras.
    - My school also didn't teach me any editing software. I use Premiere Pro, only because that's what I learned in community college. Most of the places I've applied to use AVID or Final Cut 7.