Thread: On lucid dreaming

Default On lucid dreaming

This seems to be a cicada thread. But the previous generations are closed and there has been some recent discussion in the DL forum (my fault), so I thought I would bring it back again to collect them.

This started with a side comment of mine.

Quote Originally Posted by adasterix View Post
    My experience:
    I am often present in my dreams (as in so-called lucid dreaming) so that may be a factor in both experiences. (I can also debunk the bit about not being able to read in your dreams. I do this regularly and have even read comics that I found to be funny. I've not yet been able to remember one of them when I wake, though.)

Quote Originally Posted by ICkaraokegirl View Post
    Can this be self-taught? I've always wished to do it but never been able to.

I don't know about the "taught" part, but it was certainly self for me. I originally started experiencing it as a response to nightmares; I started rationalizing them. ("I managed to jump this high without breaking a leg, so I must be able to land without breaking one". This was years before I'd even heard of Newtonian mechanics.)

I found out later that my mother had done a similar thing when she was a child, so maybe it could be inborn. It could also be a symptom of other, less handy, things about one's brain, that I apparently also share with my mother.

I'm happy to discuss this and dreams in general, but it's off-topic here. If you want to follow-up maybe you could start a thread in the Off-Topic forum. Send me a note if you do, 'cause I don't usually follow it.

And yes, one can lucid dream about that, too.

Quote Originally Posted by Abner View Post
    I would be interested in knowing this also. Sounds like a good time saver, and if noting else, good entertainment for the long term memory side of the brain.

Please, let us know...inquiring minds want to know. LOL

Quote Originally Posted by Cauthon View Post