Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: ADHD meds and ED

Default ADHD meds and ED

Has anyone experienced erectile distinction while on a stimulant medication? If so, does it eventually go away?

I am not a doctor, nor do I speak from direct experience.

A good friend of mine is on some ADHD or anti-depressant med. He refers to it as chemical castration, and it does not go away as long as he's on the med.

I don't know if that's the med, him, or some other thing, though.

When I started Adderall I went through it but after a while I was able to 'power through it' with some effort. The days I missed a dose it was like being on Zoloft again - diamond cutters that screamed out for relief! I've been off of it going on a year and things aren't too extreme 1 way or the other these days but I could probably attribute that to body chemistry

I wouldn't be surprised if erectile dysfunction where a side-effect of certain types of ADHD medications. I know this is the case with some antidepressants, given that I am on Zoloft and I have been dealing with a reduced sex drive and erectile dysfunction.

Unfortunately I can do a testimonial to this one. Plus I will add the disclaimer here, I am not a doctor, nor do I intend to pass myself off as a doctor. I am just talking about my personal experience and you should consult with a qualified person before making any decisions involving any form of medication. (I just want to keep the purple letter people happy and not break any rules )