Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: College loans

Default College loans

Hello everyone

As written in the title, i want to know more about (especially US,others are welcome too) college loans. What is it? How are the term and conditions to borrow the money?

And why are you borrowing the money? Can't you borrow that money from your parents, instead?

And finally,it is good for your prosperity? (okay, that's too much,but i can't find other words describing that) as we know, that debt is not good to your financial matters..and especially, we in Indonesia doesn't have that kind of loan here ..

P.s: i'm an economic major student, and i'm doing a personal research here, pure curiosity
    And for the parents thingie, i'm seeing this using the point of view of eastern people , and i'd like to see it from western sides of view.

The government will lend a certain amount of money each year to students, which has its advantages ($5,500 to freshman, $6,500 to sophomores, and $7,500 to juniors and seniors, I believe). Some of these are subsidized (this depends on your family's income), meaning that the government pays the interest while you are in school. Others are unsubsidized, which means they do accumulate while you are in school. The rates are decent. Anything past that has to be covered by a private lender. College loans are becoming kind of problematic in the US. I believe that college loans are now larger than credit card or auto loans (not sure what the statistic is exactly, but there is a lot of student debt in America). There are some students who take out loans that they shouldn't, certainly.