Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: The Cloth Diaper Thing is Not Working Out

Default The Cloth Diaper Thing is Not Working Out

I'm new to cloth diapers. I got really excited after ordering a Star Wars all in one with "Zorb" and Fleece and all that jive. I also ordered Super Undies from adultclothdiaperme. I love all of them. They are super comfy and fun, but I can't use them.

When I used the really thick Star Wars diaper, with an extra 'Zorb' stuffer, the wetness eventually wicked to the outside of the diaper overnight and got my sheets wet.

The Super Undies, which I use with three of their micro fiber stuffers, have even less capacity than Depends. Just one wetting and my pants are soaked the second I sit down.

So I don't get it. How do adults actually get by using cloth diapers and not getting wet clothing or sheets? And don't say rubber pants, because they are supposed to be ALL-IN-ONE!

I'm sorry cloth diapers... we've had some fun times, but it's just not working out...

Did you use the diapers right away? I don't know if all-in-ones work the same way, but you're supposed to wash traditional cloth diapers a few times before use. Also, are you sure you're not just literally using them to capacity? I have done this a few times with cloth, and they WILL start to have wicking leaks if you let them get over-full.

Finally, the general consensus is that all in ones are not as effective at containing wicking leaks as cloth diapers plus plastic pants. I personally notice my all in one tends to leak around the legbands. Often this is because the cloth inside is connected to the elastic in the legbands, or the outer material, and so liquid eventually wicks through that fabric and to the outside.

If you have the the Dependeco "Star Wars" print the outer cover will get damp when you use them. You do need plastic pants with them.
    It takes about 6 washings for the diaper to be fully absorbant. That is for the pores in the pads to be fully opened up. I've been wearing