Thread: real bad job application anxiety

Default real bad job application anxiety

I am a college student graduating in May and have just started the process of improving my resume and such for job applications. I have had panic attacks in the past triggered from different causes, but have recently found that just about anything involving the job application process has been a panic attack trigger. Anyone else ever had severe job application anxiety?

Well i have not had job application anxiety i have interview anxiety its like a have a wonderful personality but when im in a interview i freeze up but i am getting way better at it now then in the past

Default Re: real bad job application anxiety

I'm like you Zach i get very nervous during interviews, i get really bad dry mouth, and sometimes stumble on my words, but i got through my last two interviews, and may even get an offer.

Quote Originally Posted by bigbluehusky View Post
    I'm like you Zach i get very nervous during interviews, i get really bad dry mouth, and sometimes stumble on my words, but i got through my last two interviews, and may even get an offer.
    really man? Thought i was the only one lol

Oh god -- I get terrible anxiety generally, but job applications kill me. I procrastinate, I can't work out what to write on my CV, I then I worry about all the expectations that will be put upon me when I get a job, and how stressful it will be. Then I tend to go blank in the interview, get a dry mouth, need to go to the loo every 5 minutes, physically shake, forget my name, try to shake hands with the hat stand, spill coffee everywhere and accidentally set off the sprinkler system. It seems like a miracle when I get a job, but the anxiety has really hampered my career... :-(