Thread: technology

Question technology

does anybody here think technology is moving forward way too fast?, i mean in the time i have been in existance i have seen computers evolve from slow pieces of crap to super fast, multitasking, and sleek. I have seen the phones go from a small brick to smartphones that are slim, sleek and powerful. I think all of the tech giants are pushing the envelope way too fast and i think that will be its downfall. I guess what i am trying to say does anyone fear when computers become smarter than a human will they think of us as a threat and try to neutralize us all or will we build in a failsafe does anyone else feel this way

I guess I'm all for the advances of technology, just based on the school I'm attending. I'm studying to become an engineering technologist, with electronics being the major component of my studies.

I know that technology is moving forward at an astounding speed, but I don't think it's ready to slow down any time soon. It used to be that industrial plants were the first to get any new developments in technology, because they had the money to buy these new fancy components. Now that the components are cheaper to manufacture and the work can be outsourced, the technology is being placed in the hands of consumers before anybody else. As long as consumers continue to buy, new technology will be developed. It's like an Arms race.

So, give it another few years and the technology we have today will be a thing of the past. I remember when I got my first cellphone (2007?) and if you had a touch screen, you were one of the coolest people in highschool. Fast-forward to today, most phones you buy are touchscreen. It's actually harder to find an old flip phone.