Thread: Anyone Else Love Horticulture or Landscapes?

Default Anyone Else Love Horticulture or Landscapes?

I'm a professional landscape designer and horticulturist, and would love to talk to others interested in this. So how about it? I'll start by asking, what is your favorite plant, or landscape?

The Minnesota state plant, the Lady Slipper is my favorite flower or a rose. They are just pretty enough for me, I think their are two more flowers I like, but have no idea their names, since I am not a flower enthusiast. I do have a favorite tree, but it is a specific tree of which I do not know the name, although I like weeping willows because I used to have one in my backyard.

Hmmm...I studied horticulture at college (in one of my many attempts at finding a 'calling') and, over the years, have made various attempts at 'gardening'/'landscaping'. My now ex-husband worked for a landscaping company (still does, actually) and we did a couple of jobs "on the side" for people.
    I'm one of those people who likes a well-ordered garden/ I prefer a more 'formal' style. Something with walkways, and orderly beds and such.
    Some of my favourite plants/trees:

Monarda - Bee Balm Click image for larger version. 

Name:	220px-BeeBalm.jpg 
Views:	8 
Size:	28.1 KB 
ID:	16231 - is unusual and attractive. I prefer the bright/deep red cultivars, but any will attract butterflies to your garden.

Solanum lycopersicum - common tomato plant Click image for larger version. 

Name:	220px-Tomato_flower_and_young_fruit.jpg 
Views:	10 
Size:	10.4 KB 
ID:	16229- may be unusual for a flower garden, but the small yellow or white blossoms are extremely attractive to hummingbirds! In fact, I have witnessed first hand a hummingbird actually perching on the wire of the tomato-cage whilst enjoying a nectar feast! doesn't matter which...all roses are beautiful. Climbing roses, old-fashioned roses Click image for larger version. 

Name:	rosa_rugosa_hansa_landscape_2.jpg 
Views:	12 
Size:	15.9 KB