Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: getting used to a catheter

Default getting used to a catheter

This is just a question, but if someone is told they are to use an indwelling catheter for an extended period of time, how long does it take to get used to a catheter (such as how long until its not noticeable)?

I have no experience of indwelling catheters (I use the intermittent ones) but I gather that for someone who has normal sensation in their bladder and urethra, you will never "not notice" it. Me personally, I have no sensation there so I wouldn't feel it.

The longest I have ever had to have a foley catheter in was about 2 weeks, first 3 days my bladder protessted, but after that apart from the feeling of needing to pee all the time and being very carefull not to tug it or catch it on anything, really didn't notice it that much. Painkillers I was being given helped loads so not sure how bad it would have been without them.

Not sure which is worse, having it in or the painful burning the next few times you pee after its been removed. Not to memtion the accidents after that, because my bladder took nearly 2 days to get back to normal once it was removed.

Default Re: getting used to a catheter

I never had mine in for longer than 10hrs maybe, I'm not sure how long they are safe to keep in for. Putting it in isn't so bad, its taking it out thats bad. I have to agree with the previous poster about peeing afterwards. The burning sucks when you pee. Also the bladder size diminishes quite quickly as well. Leading to frequent urinations for a couple of days.

Its still fun for the ones wanting to experience no control. You MUST follow directions very carefully. Sanitation is most needed when playing with Foley catheters. UTIs are common if sanitation isn't used with every aspect of insertion. Use medical websites that are trusted and use their guidelines.