Thread: Used to buying?

Default Used to buying?

I've been buying diapers at stores now for about 3 years (I know ordering online is waaay better but I can't) but I'm still super nerevous buying diapers. How long has it taken some of you to get over it?

I'm not exactly sure when it happened. It sort of snuck up on me. There was a fairly long period where I was very, very nervous and sometimes I didn't even buy because conditions just weren't "right". Then it shifted to discomfort but something that needed to be done. For at least the last six years it's been pretty dull and I even miss the thrill a bit. I did get a bit of a zing buying multiple bags when there was a big sale. It was like I had worked out buying one was no big deal but as soon as I bought more, it made it seem like a much bigger deal. I got used to that much more quickly, though. Only gives me a twinge now. Just keep at it. Oddly, you'll probably miss some of the excitement, as awful as it is, when you get over it.

My first time I bought them, my heart was popping out of my chest. I bought other non conspicuous things along with it so it didnt seem too weird. As time went on, i stopped buying with other items. Now i just walk in, pick up a bag, go to the cashier and pay. I make normal eye contact and exchange normal banter with him or her as if nothing is going on. They couldnt care less on what i am buying as long as i am paying for it.

i have never had a problem as i buy goodnights no one even looks at me strange

I used to get a lot more freaked out than I do now, though I still get pings of nerves when I do.

I had a huge cover story ready and was as nervous as anything my first time. To this day I have never had to use the cover story. No one has ever cared. I think once I realized that they were likely more embarrassed than me and that no one would ever ask my nervousness went away.