Thread: legal advice

Angry legal advice

hey guys
    so just after some advice really
    i am a self employed instructor, but i get contracted out to outdoor activity places to instruct on activitiy's we usually start at 07:30 and finish at 1900 in between those times all we get is a 30min break for lunch which sometimes we dont get. when i invoice the owner and put a due date for the invoice it still rarely gets met within the time i give them, i just want to know 1, is it against the law to work for so many hours without a break? 2, where i stand with money.

hope someone can help

1. We're not lawyers and not really qualified to answer this question.
    2. What's legal depends on your jurisdiction. You didn't mention anything about where you live.
    3. There are some complicating factors here like that you're self-employed.

You probably need to ask an actual lawyer, but you could probably perform some google-fu to get the basic gist of labor laws in your jurisdiction first.

Check your state labor board they can tell for free good luck.

First of all, best of luck with getting your customers pay you in time. Lately here delaying payments has become a national sport. I have customers which still need to pay me for work I've done more than 6 months ago. And you're lucky enough if your customers don't go bankrupt, happened to me once, had to go through legal procedures to assure I'm gonna get the money, although it'll take more than a year for that to happen. Delaying payments of course is not legal, European regulations establish 60 days as the latest possible payment time from the invoice date. Past that term, you can apply an interest on the amount of your invoice. But it's a ridiculously low one, so it's not really worth the effort.