Thread: Les Miserables

Default Les Miserables

Anyone a fan of Victor Hugo's novel or other adaptations?

I enjoy the Broadway adaptation and especially the music. It's very powerful. I haven't seen the movie, but I will one day. Like Adam Lambert, I wish they had gotten stronger singing voices for the movie, but then I'm a professional singer, and one who has sung at both Philharmonic Hall, NYC as well as Carnegie Hall.

Yea I have to admit that the singing in the movie for the most part is dreadful.... Especially Russell Crowe. Thankfully we have greats like Philip Quast, Earl Carpenter, and and Andrew Verlea to make up for that

I enjoyed the movie and have no problem with the singing. The only trouble I had understanding anything was when three people sang different things at the same time. I liked the sound, but I could only listen to one person at a time. I will have to rewatch or relisten to those songs so I can get the full meaning from those songs.

I was a little peeved with Anne Hathaways performance of "I dream the dream" She overacted it and should have just sung the song. I know it's supposed to be an emotional scene in all, but honestly think it could have been done better. Out of all the performances in the movie, I enjoyed Sacha Baron Cohens the best.

Quote Originally Posted by dogboy View Post
    I enjoy the Broadway adaptation and especially the music. It's very powerful. I haven't seen the movie, but I will one day. Like Adam Lambert, I wish they had gotten stronger singing voices for the movie, but then I'm a professional singer, and one who has sung at both Philharmonic Hall, NYC as well as Carnegie Hall.
    It's honestly one of the best play's I've ever seen. I happily go and see it again every year. I haven't seen the movie yet, but I'm looking forward it!