Thread: Motivational Issues

Default Motivational Issues

Hey Everyone

I'm a second year undergraduate, in the UK. I'm quite idealistic about what I would like to achieve in life, and from my degree. However, I've always struggled with motivational issues, which in the past hasn't been too much of a problem as I've always had enough about me generally to jump the hurdle, whether it be GCSE, A-Level etc. However I'm now at a point in my life where I know what I need to achieve, and it requires to achieve a high grade of passing, as opposed to just passing in itself. However I'm really struggling when it comes to knuckling down and doing the work itself, which I know it shouldn't having that awareness of what I want to do and how to achieve it, yet I'm still struggling when it comes to motivation.

Has anyone been in the same boat, or can offer any advice?

Much appreciated.

Hey Zoolander,
    I can totally relate to this. I think the answer is 'just do it' It kinda just takes a suck-it-up attitude at first....you know when people say you only get out of it what you put in...well that pretty much it. For me it was a matter of pushing myself initially, but then it gradually became like a routine which wasn't so bad. you just have to remember to build in enough ME time, whatever that is for you. Good luck and go for it..I'm sure it will be worth it.

Default Re: Motivational Issues

I was in your shoes with having an exact picture of what I wanted to do in my professional life. I had tunnel vision saying I was going to be an RF electrical engineer. Later, I learned I would be happy in a wide variety of technical professions so hear I am writing embedded software. If you have a hard time motivating yourself to do what you need to do to achieve a goal, I apologize for being abrupt, simplified and crude but:

Option 1: Give yourself a swift kick in the @#$ and tell yourself playtime is delayed a few years but not denied.

And if Option 1 doesn't work....