Thread: Veterans day

Default Veterans day

I would to like to remind you to thank a veteran today and tomorrow. Veterans day is a day of rememberance and reflection. You don't have to help at a homeless shelter but a hand shake and a thank you touches their hearts like you wouldn't believe.

I am a 3 deployment Iraq vet and a member of the VFW, and as I was sitting at the post last night for the Marine Corps birthday celebration we made a toast to our fallen brothers. There was not a dry eye in he building. Please honor the fallen and thank the living for the sacrifices they have made.

Remembrance day here in Canada. It's tradition here to wear a poppy over our hearts as a symbol of gratitude. It comes from the poem "In Flanders Fields" written by Lieutenant Colonel John McCrae, he was a Canadian physician and he wrote the poem when he was in the first World War. I'm quite fond of the poem myself.

In Flanders fields the poppies blow
    Between the crosses, row on row,
    That mark our place; and in the sky
    The larks, still bravely singing, fly
    Scarce heard amid the guns below.

We are the Dead. Short days ago
    We lived, felt dawn, saw sunset glow,
    Loved and were loved, and now we lie
    In Flanders fields.

Take up our quarrel with the foe:
    To you from failing hands we throw
    The torch; be yours to hold it high.
    If ye break faith with us who die
    We shall not sleep, though poppies grow
    In Flanders fields.

As cliche as it sounds, one of my favorite quotes about the Marine Corps, and the military in general, comes from Full Metal Jacket.

"Today, you are Marines. You're part of a brotherhood. From now on until the day you die, every Marine is your brother."