Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Turkey's Accession to the EU

Question Turkey's Accession to the EU

Turkey has been an associate member state for quite a while and seeks to become a part of the European Union. If Turkey were to be granted membership to the European Union in 2013, my questions are:

1. How will this affect the European Union financially?
    2. How will this appear to other countries within the vicinity?
    3. Do the benefits really outweigh the risks?

I am not a real expert on the EU but wouldn't Turkey resist being integrated into the EU?

Quote Originally Posted by BabyEddie View Post
    I am not a real expert on the EU but wouldn't Turkey resist being integrated into the EU?
    Actually Turkey has been wanting to join the EU for quite a while. However their accession has run into trouble because of possible human rights abuses, and the issues concerning greece and cyprus. The issue concerning cyprus has been their primary stumbling block as they are no friend of greece. They would however be strategically and economically valuable to the EU because it would open up access to middle eastern oil.

Hypothetically, if they were allowed into the EU there would be some restrictions not present for other nations. For instance all other EU nations, except for the UK, allow free travel between their boarders. Because of turkey's geographic location, and their cultural differences, they would not share this privilege.

Though keep in mind that this is an American talking, so if any of our european friends have information I do not perhaps they could give a better answer. I did a study on this all semester, two semesters ago, for an international relations project, but as a result my information and understanding may be a tad dated.