Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: First year hunting

Deer know anything about trapping? this will be my first year too.

Make sure you hit your mark and put the deer down clean. If you are using a gun or bow hit behind and just below the shoulder blade. Remember the goal is to take the life of the animal in as humane a way as possible, nothing is worse than having to watch an animal squirm and suffer. As for trapping I have zero experience, I just use like to hunt with rifles and bows. I love to hunt, and I do it every year.

Quote Originally Posted by MaineBilly View Post
    Anyone got tips or pointers?
    If you're hunting, wear orange to avoid getting shot! Deer can't see orange... also, make sure you are 100% positive with your target id. Next, get up before dawn. Walk to the tops, quietly! Then sit there and glass as the sun comes up, and the deer come out to feed. Once you have spotted your target, move closer, keeping it upwind. Try to close to under 300 yards if possible. Then take your time. Have a practice pull of the trigger with the safety on; you may be surprised how much you flinch. Then, slowly squeeeeze the trigger. Don't pull it; it will upset your aim.

Having shot your deer, go gut it and carry it out, or else remove all the meat and the head if it's a decent trophy stag. Please don't just take the head, it's incredibly wasteful and reflects badly on all hunters. Plus you waste about $1000 of shop-bought venison. :P In NZD anyway.

When bush hunting, any time of the day will do. You need to be vigilant and constantly on the lookout for sign, and for deer. Sign can be hoofprints, fur, faecal matter, broken branches, chewed leaves, or rubbed trees (Stags will rub trees with their antlers to remove velvet). Deer will pop up instantly in the bush, and while you need to be able to take the shot quickly, this is not an excuse for not being 100% target positive. You must never, ever shoot at something that looks vaguely deerish through a bush.