Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Help building

Default Help building

Ok ADISC I'm thinking about entering the world of pc gaming and computer building. Please keep in mind that I'm COMPLETELY NEW to building computers. So I've been reading up on what I need and have selected the following components.

1:*CPU : intel i5 2500k

2: Motherboard :*asrock p67 pro

3: RAM : 8gb *DDR3 Kingston value

4: Power supply : *750watt (I'm planning on cutting costs here)

5: Graphics card -BLANK- I want a card that will work well with the CPU without bottlenecking either.

6: Case -BLANK-

7: Optical drive -BLANK- (DVD only)

8: Storage -BLANK- (500gb to start off with)

Can anyone tell me how well these components will work together and help me fill in the blanks.

Any advise for the actual build is appreciated as well.

My budget is $1500 NZD (what I've selected so far comes to $540.52 NZD)

StripesTheSkunk

The MoBo, processor, and ram seem fine. The most you would spend on a graphics card is $500 USD (Of course, there are many perfectly fine cards for less than that. So, probably $300-$400 USD). Because there are so many graphics cards out there, I really can't say to go and buy a specific one. The Power Supply you selected should be fine, it doesn't look like you are running too much stuff, just make sure everything will run on a PSU of 750W (Probably $75-$100 USD). Expect to pay about $150-200 USD on a DVD drive and 500 GB HDD. As for the case... whatever looks nice and fits your MoBo well! I think that $100-$150 would work. I would also suggest an SSD for system stuff, and perhaps more HDD space if you have enough money left. If you buy these items on sale, you could probably be able to do this. The estimated prices I gave should get you decent results (I tried to give suggestions that top your budget). In USD, you currently have $795 left, so if you buy a product in the price ranges above, expect to pay somewhere in between the low and high prices on each item.