Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Guitar lessons

Default Guitar lessons

Can someone help point me into the right direction?
    I don't know where to start playing guitar.
    I've been playing on and off for 3 years. I play for a short while and don't get back to playing for a while.
    I am good with chords but I only know the first 3 to 4 frets after that I am clueless.
    I can play smoke on the water,heart of gold,wish you were here, cat scratch fever,cocaine, and mess around with some other stuff. I AM NO EXPERT BELIEVE ME. I don't want to learn notes I prefer tabs (easier than notes). I want to play by ear like my dad but that's hard. What are other easy to play songs?

Well always some of the things to do are learn some basic scales (major, natural minor, harmonic minor, melodic minor) and chord progressions. ( I - IV - V - I, I - IV - ii - V, the infamous I - V - vi - IV, and their minor variants) Also if you want to learn things by ear I have a solution, give up tabs. Tabs can be neat and a fast way to learn things, but if you want to do ear training they'll only continue to hold you back. Some basic music theory can be really handy as well, doesn't mean you have to know all the terms and rules, but knowing the basics does let you know some guidelines to work with and where you can have some wiggle room. One of the biggest things is don't get lazy and cut corners, it'll show later and you down.
    Last edited by Mysterious; 21-Aug-2012 at 07:10. Reason: 500th post! Only took about 4 and a half years.

Here's a website that offers free ear training: Good Ear - Online Ear Training Site

That's all I can really give you, as I am a bassist and I don't do chords. Just keep at it and remember to take time to have fun once in a while as well.

Oh, and Google is an amazing resource. There's a whole bunch of free programs for you to use out there to learn various guitar skills.