Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Depth

Default Depth

When indecision is caused by many layers of thought, does that indicate great depth, or great confusion?

I am seriously hesitant to describe my problem on this forum, because I am certain the majority of the responses will prematurely diagnose it as withdrawal or purging of diapers. It is true that they remain my favorite fantasy, and in real life it has manifested as childlike energy and cheerfulness, on top of having made me more desiring of physical contact than most men, even in an increasingly feminine society. Regardless, I will give you the gist of the problem, and through your responses, give more specific information.

Since almost two years ago, due to a series of relatively traumatic events, I've been trying to change into a more sociable person, and make real-life friends. This effort has been overwhelmingly successful, and not only do I have 4-6 very good friends in the same apartment complex, but I am an officer in a campus fraternity and senator on the SGA. Somehow I got status as well as friends.

However, the SGA and my friends, while very awesome, are corrupt. Feeling ripped off by rising tuition, we often plot ways to allocate club funding to things that would ultimately (or directly) benefit us, such as 1 TB hard drives for the IT club to use, hard drives which would then be forgotten. I'm falling into this pattern myself, unfortunately. My philosophy has always been one of minimalism, where I rarely buy myself things and make do with what I have, but nowadays that belief is giving way to selfishness, a disposition that is not so hesitant to obtain this-and-that. This is very troublesome to me because one of the key elements of my philosophy is honesty. It's a big strain for me to ask for, or take, things that I don't earn, but at the same time I see my friends going through the channels and collecting a lot of their own things, which is overly frustrating to me.