Thread: Looking for strength training tips

Default Looking for strength training tips

Yeah, recently I decided to pick up weight training again, and this time I have stuck with it for a couple of weeks, so I guess I can do it for the long haul this time.

I have been using the weight machines at the Y, and I am going to wait until I can afford a trainer before I even bother trying to fuck around with the free weights - I don't want to hurt myself in the process, that stuff tends to scare me a bit.

I decided to eat a high-protein breakfast on mornings before I lift, and I decided I was going to lift every other day.

I am looking for tips that I might not be aware of when it comes to this. I am still a newbie in this field. Hell, the most I can bench press now is 120 - that seems kinda wimpy when the guy next to me tends to do double that. Heh.

Default would a good place to go for tips if you haven't already. If you read enough on there/other sites and learn enough about strength training, you shouldn't need a trainer.

Some good threads:
    The Beginner Workout Guide
    Tips About Recovery

Quote Originally Posted by KaworuVsDrWily View Post
    I decided to eat a high-protein breakfast on mornings before I lift, and I decided I was going to lift every other day.
    don't forget your greens
    a normal balanced diet should suffice (meat and two veg, three times a day), if you're not 'bodybuilding' or some kind of pro. considering your age, you are probably best to begin slowly and cautiously, as you think, as you won't be undergoing a growth spurt and you'll need time for your white (connective) tissues to catch up with the redder ones. heat packs at the joints can help increase blood-flow there.
    lower back problems can be an issue for people of your age (a combination of the muscles still having a youthful sense, but not the conditioning) and a lot of people find that a good exercise focus on their legs helps avoid back problems.